color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Tasty Tuesday – Lunch With My Dad

This is one of those times where I’m going to use the gigantic time difference between here and the States to my advantage.  You see, it’s already Wednesday here, but it’s still Tuesday night in the Midwest – so, this counts!  Thing is, this delay was not a result of forgetfulness or being too busy to write.  Rather, it was done on purpose.  This week’s Tasty Tuesday may be super simple, but for me, it’s special.

Last year, about this time, you may remember me writing this letter to my Dad.  Today, April 20, 2011, now marks 11 years since he passed.  You may also recall this post on remembering someone we love, where I described my sort of yearly ritual for reconnecting with my Dad.  Well, that’s what today’s Tasty Tuesday is about – the meal I eat each year in his memory.

Now, do you get why the whole time difference thing works for me?  I’m posting about food on what is still your Tuesday, but is already my Wednesday – the day I celebrate my Dad.  Perfect.

If you haven’t read the previously mentioned posts, what I do every year on April 20 (the day he died) and July 29 (his birthday) is eat a meal I remember my Mom telling me was one of his favorites for lunch or picnicking.  Lucky for me, it’s one of mine, too.

Egg salad sandwiches and green Jell-O.

So, there it is.  My lunch for today.  A bit of hard-boiled egg, celery, homemade pickles, and mayo.

Not a day usually goes by where I don’t think about my Dad at some point.  Whether it be something I wish I could tell him, a place I could take him here in Thailand, wanting to just give him a hug and tell him I love him… he’s in my mind somehow.  Especially with the birth of our first child coming in the next few months, I find myself thinking of him even more, wishing he could be here to hold his new grandchild.  But, no matter how much I wish, or think, or even regret not spending more time with him when I could have, I would never want him to have lasted 11 more years in the state that he was.  I miss him, but it’s better off this way.

Love you, Dad.

April 20, 2011 Posted by | Food, Personal, Tasty Tuesdays | 4 Comments