color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

กตัญญุตา – Thankfulness

It’s Thanksgiving Day back in the States today… people are hustling and bustling about making pies, getting the turkey in the oven, letting rolls rise on the counter, setting tables, making place cards, cleaning their houses top to bottom, watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, laughing with friends, enjoying time with family, and just soaking in a bit more of the Autumn air.

Here in Thailand, it’s a day just like any other.  In fact, I went to the dentist today.  My seventh and final visit in the drama that was my abscess tooth, root canal, crowning, and another filling.  Thankfully, it is now complete and I am once again able eat on both sides of my mouth!  (A luxury I’ve not had for more than a year.)

Last year, while living in Lopburi, we attended a small gathering of Americans in a nearby city on Thanksgiving.  There were maybe 10 of us in all, if I remember correctly.  We all worked hard to recreate something from home as best we could, using what was available to us.  It was great.  This year, however, we are the lone Americans – the nearest still being quite a drive away from us.  We had toyed with the idea of inviting people (other nationalities included, as all of our friends from language school days are from different countries!) over to our home for a big meal, but the timing just didn’t seem to work out for us this year.  Between field meetings, language study, church meetings, dentist appointments, and more, it would have been a bit too much for me right now.  It was a little disappointing, of course, but bearable as the lack of holiday vibe around here makes it easier to just live it like any other day.  That being said, I did end up using some rosemary and garlic on a bit of chicken for our supper tonight – I had to get a little bit of those flavors in at least!  Oh, and tomorrow I’ll be making some pumpkin bread.  Mmmmm…. pumpkin.

Despite our lack of Turkey Day feasting, or ability to be with family and friends today, I do know that I have a LOT to be thankful for.  I see these things and appreciate many of them even more after all of the troubles, hardships, and illnesses of our first year in Lopburi.  I am blessed.  In the good times, I am blessed.  In the bad times, I am still blessed.  As cheesy as it sounds, there’s really no other, better, way to put it.  On that note, I’m just going to start writing what it is that I am thankful for today, and every day that I am given to live.  May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving of your own today, enjoy your time reflecting on the good in your life, and soak in as much as possible as you celebrate with those that you love…

  • My Creator – without whom I would be nothing…
  • My family – a mother who raised me to see the world through compassionate eyes, a big brother who loves me no matter where I am in the world or how long it is between times we get to see each other, a sister-in-law who has become a great friend to me, a niece & nephew who are incredible and growing so fast, grandparents who have stood beside me, loved me, and prayed for me no matter where I go, an aunt & uncle who have always been there for me, and cousins who I love deeply…
  • My husband – who somehow thought it would be a good idea to move to the other side of the world with me, and who takes me at both my best & my worst…
  • 2 of the best families I could have ever married into, and the fact that they’ve loved me as one of their own…
  • Friends and supporters who not only encourage and love us, but give sacrificially so we are able to live this crazy life overseas…
  • Thai friends who help us every time we screw up our language or manners, love us just the same, and work alongside us anyway…
  • The home that we now have, the neighborhood it is in, and how comfortable and ‘at home’ we feel in it…
  • Enough food on our table every single day…
  • A body that, even when I may dislike or criticize it, is able to walk, function, and carry me through what I need to do every single day…
  • And the little things like…

… the masses of birds in our trees that sing all day long, kids that play on our corner in the afternoon, my gardens, a bathtub, my stove/oven, a washing machine, flushing toilets, my dentist, our language helpers, our church, our car, our computers & internet access, discovering new kinds of bugs and lizards in this environment, the fact that we actually do live on the other side of the world and how incredible that is when I really stop and think about it, Toffee at the mission home and Doxy at Shiloh (who are the only dogs I can talk to and pet without getting bit, since the rest are all strays!), Skype, a real mattress…

And so much more.

November 25, 2010 - Posted by | Just for Fun, Personal

1 Comment »

  1. 🙂

    Comment by Marie | November 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

