color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Tasty Tuesday – Picnic Food

So, I just now realized that I didn’t get around to any posts other than my Tasty Tuesday last week. Must have been busy, right? Considering we’ve been working on the exterior portion of our house, and the fact that we had 15 people for supper on Sunday (for which I made most of the food – yay!), I would say “busy” is a suitable adjective.

In light of the fact that we just had a big BBQ to celebrate our new home on Sunday, and you all will be celebrating Labor Day this coming weekend in the States, I thought it fitting to focus on the classic American picnic staple – Coleslaw.

What do you think of when you hear the word “coleslaw?” Is it made of shredded cabbage and carrots, or is it all minced up KFC style?  Does it have finely sliced green apple or fennel in it (yum!) or chopped celery? Is it creamy or does it have a light vinaigrette? Are there crunched up dry ramen noodles and broccoli stems as well? There’s many different types of slaw out there, and everyone has their favorite – or, if you’re me, you have several. Now, though I may not have one particular as my favorite, I do have one I know I don’t like – the super creamy, thick, mayo laden kind that just seems to glisten with cholesterol and form one big sticky lump on your plate. Yech.

When I’m in the mood for a classic, creamy (but not thick!) coleslaw, this is how I like it. Not too thick, not too thin, and the flavor gets even better the second day.  This is actually what we had with our Souvlaki Pitas last week, so I really made Brook wait even longer to eat as we had to take a photo of this slaw as well!  What a mean wife I am.

Anyways, here’s the recipe.  Go ahead and make it for your own Labor Day picnic, if you like.  And, yes, I actually remembered to measure things out after I tossed each one into the bowl this time, but feel free to adjust anything to your own tastes.  Enjoy!

Light & Creamy Coleslaw
by: Me!

  • 1 large head of green cabbage – shredded
  • 1 large carrot – grated
  • about half of a small onion – grated**
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • a scant 1/2 C milk
  • about 2 1/2 T white vinegar (I think white wine vinegar would be good, too)
  • about 2 1/2 T lemon juice
  • a scant 1/4 C sugar (more or less depending on what you like)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • several good cranks on a black pepper grinder
  • a shake or two of either poppy or celery seed (the celery seed will have a stronger flavor than poppy)

1.  Shred and chop your veggies, then add them to a bowl.  If you don’t want to prepare them yourself, I’m thinking one of those 16 oz. bags of coleslaw mix that you can buy at the store would work just fine.

2. Whisk together all remaining ingredients in separate bowl or large measuring cup until smooth.

3. Pour dressing over cabbage mix, toss to combine, and chill for at least an hour before serving.

** For those of you who don’t like the texture of raw onion, grating is a great way to get sweet onion flavor in cold dishes without the dreaded chunks.  By grating the onion, it releases more of the onions juices (the flavor!), and its flesh becomes so soft and fine that it just blends right into the salad completely unnoticed.

August 31, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Tasty Tuesdays

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

