color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

The New Store in Town

Wow is all I have to say.  Seriously.  Wow.

Now, to the rest of you, to whom I may sound like just another a blabbering girly girl hyped up over something insignificant, I say “whatever.”  With the kindest smile, of course.  🙂

Today, Brook and I had a few hours to kill between lessons and decided our time would be best spent checking out a new store on the other end of town.  It just opened on Wednesday, and we decided (after the last Grand Opening we tried to attend) it would be better to wait a few days until the curious crowd died down a little bit.  Even better, we decided midday would cut down on the masses even more.  Yes, this plan worked, and off we went to check out this place called Makro just outside of the city.

Makro, for those of you who don’t know, is a more simplified Thai equivalent to Sam’s Club.  They sell many items in bulk (cooking oils, snacks, some fresh produce, etc.) at a discounted price, and shoppers are asked to have a membership card.  This week, they’re letting people in without a card though, so they can start shopping and get hooked on it first.  Ha.  I’ve heard about these stores, and driven by them many times during the course of the past year, but had never been inside one.

I was in sheer awe of their produce section and frozen items, the dairy case (yes, there was a dairy case!!!!!) and the bakery.  I don’t expect any of you to understand, but after living in our city for a year, lacking many food items that I’ve been accustomed to having for the past 25 years, this place about made me cry.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love Thai food!  But, it’s nice to have something more familiar every once in a while, ya know?

So, what did I see that I haven’t seen before (well, sometimes in Bangkok, but not in Lopburi)??  Massive blocks of cheese (one mozzarella, one white cheddar, one yellow Australian cheddar, one gouda and one parmesean)!  Real sour cream!  Ground beef, frozen pizza dough, yellow corn tortillas, dried bay leaves, Canadian bacon in chunk form, Prego spaghetti sauce, both black and green canned olives, lasagna noodles, Granny Smith apples, balsamic vinegar, real navel oranges, fresh strawberries, lemons (very rare), real sweet corn, frozen blueberries (berries are pretty non-existent here), frozen spinach (oh my goodness!), and both red & white wine vinegars.  It took most of the power I have within me to resist grabbing some of everything and shoving it in my cart as we walked the store (though it did help reminding myself that it was all a bit expensive on our Thai budget, and these sort of things would have to limited to an infrequent “treats” basis.  Ha!).  I simply could not believe my eyes.

celery-calmBut the biggest thing to me, the thing that made my eyes well up with tears for some inexplicable reason, was celery.  Real, fat, bright green, large bunched, crispy, refreshing, glorious celery.  I have been wanting for this simple pleasure for a year now – chicken salad just isn’t the same, egg salad lacks that fabulous crunch, peanut butter is lonely without it… and today I found it.  I’m not kidding about how happy I was to pick it up, see the stamp from California, and take it to be weighed.  And it wasn’t too expensive either!  Only about $1.00 US for a good sized bunch.  I was like a little kid proudly carrying a new toy around throughout the store. I just couldn’t stop smiling.

I know, I know.  I’m a silly girl.  But, it’s those little things in life that help refresh this girl when day to day life in Thailand gets to be just a little bit too much.  That celery made my day.  I ate a few sticks with peanut butter for lunch, and I made the most delightful chicken salad for supper.  It was wonderful.

What’s one of your “little things” that can cheer you up or make everything all better?

June 11, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Just for Fun, Personal, Thailand

7 Comments »

  1. Yay! 🙂 My kids like ants on a log, with the pb and raisins on them. Some of my little things that make me happy are raw almonds, chocolate (I’m sure you didn’t know that), and yarn! 🙂 Do you think you guys will get a membership or is it too expensive? I wonder if you can tag along shop with a member like you can at Sam’s club?

    Comment by Marie | June 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Not sure how much it costs yet, but likely we’ll have to save up for a bit before getting one. In the meantime, we can probably just borrow somebody else’s card when the budget allows us to make a shopping trip. 🙂

      Comment by Sara | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love your story thank you for sharing! I bet it is wonderful to find a little piece Of home. We miss you guys!

    Comment by Stephanie | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. When I lived in Brazil, finding American peanut butter was the best thing in the world. These days, I love chocolate milk 🙂

    Comment by JulieAnn | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. What a great story — the simple things in life — we all think about the big things we’d miss but it is the little things, isn’t it?

    Comment by Aunt Lori | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. i can’t tell you how happy i am that you’re happy! i was gleeful after reading your msg this morning, and ecstatic for you, reading this. celery…who’dathunk it? most of the time, a whole stalk of it goes bad on me and i feel guilty throwing some of it away, but i can just see you enjoying it…perhaps you did a ‘nana’ while eating it, eh? LOL love you and cant wait to see the pics from this wkend!

    Comment by mom | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. You might not need a membership… if you act like you don’t know Thai, anyway. We went to Makro all the time in BKK without a card 🙂 I think they just didn’t want to confront us 🙂

    Soft grass between my toes is what cheered me up today 🙂

    Comment by April | June 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

