color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

(Tardy!) Tasty Tuesday

Yes, Tasty Tuesday on a Wednesday. Such is the life of a missionary in transition – more about that tomorrow!

For this week’s Tasty Tuesday, I thought I’d share with you a few of the places I like to go online when searching for ideas on food, recipes, creativity and what not. Living in Thailand has surely forced me to be even more resourceful when it comes to meals (and everyday life, for that matter) and food shopping. I’ve always been one to enjoy cooking and making things myself, but boy was I surprised by how little what I made back in the States was truly “from scratch.”

Back home, I used canned tomatoes, cream soups, packaged tortillas, and pre-mixed spice blends for certain things.  I got used to having things like English muffins and bagels at the store, buying a package of ricotta or sour cream, picking up a bag of hamburger buns, or buying various types of broth for cooking and soup making.  Yes, I made meals myself and rarely used a boxed something-or-other… but, I still used things (like what I just listed) that were already prepared in order to do so.  Here, it’s a whole different ballgame – none of these things are anywhere to be found.

I now make my own cream soups, sauce bases, roux, stewed/crushed/peeled tomatoes, tomato juice, tortillas, spice blends, English muffins, bagels, hamburger buns, reconstitute various dry beans, dinner rolls, broths, sausage, pickles, salsa (which I did before sometimes, too), chicken strips/ buffalo wings, pasta/pizza sauces, various breads and doughs, and so much more.  Right now, I’m even working on making sour cream and ricotta!  It’s tough work, too, when I don’t actually have a kitchen either.  I’ve got a table out in our living space, and a strip off the back of the house with an old gas range in it.  Imagine how funny I look when doing prep on one side of the house, then running to the other with something in hand for a pot on the stove.  Ha.  I do enjoy it, but it takes a LOT of time to do here in Thailand.

Seeing as I had to leave my cookbooks back in the States (all but one my mom made for me when we got married, with family recipes in it – that one HAD to be here with me!), I’ve had to begin turning to the internet for help when I need it.  Since doing so, I’ve discovered a handful of reliable food bloggers that have enabled me to learn new ways of cooking, how to make more “pantry items” from scratch, and enjoy watching them cook certain meals that I would love to make, but simply can’t find the ingredients for around here.

That said, I’d like to share with you a few links to the sites I check most often for help, inspiration, and new ideas.  I hope you enjoy them, too!  Just click on the name, and it will link you straight to the site.

The Pioneer Woman Cooks – fabulous step-by-step photo tutorials on nearly every recipe.  Good home cookin’ type food.

Tasty Kitchen – a pretty reliable recipe-sharing community developed by the previously mentioned Pioneer Woman.

Annie’s Eats – a working mom in the medical field, from Indianapolis, who does a fabulous job of entertaining and trying/developing new recipes.

FoodGawker – a collection of food photos with links to various original blog posts containing recipes and cooking tips, updated daily.

Taste – an Australian recipe collection filled with light, refreshing, healthy meals.

KitchenDaily – sure, they’ve got lots of good recipes… but, my favorite part is the How-To’s section that features lots of short instructional videos on basic kitchen and cooking techniques from the Culinary Institute of America.

CIA Intelligence – from the CIA (Culinary Institute of America), comes recipes, instructional videos, and a whole lot of knowledge, if you’re into that sort of thing.  I sure am!

June 9, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Just for Fun, Tasty Tuesdays

2 Comments »

  1. I can empathize with both the lack of a kitchen and needing to find out how to make pantry items from scratch. It’s sure not easy! I’ve made a few attempts at sour cream (and failed), so let me know if you figure that one out. You should write a guide book for American expat cooks. I’d buy it 🙂

    Comment by Sally | June 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. I need your address so I can send you that fabulous cookbook that will help you make “yogurt, sour cream, cream, and etc…” from scratch. Hopefully it will help you in your journey. Good luck on finding a house.

    Comment by Rachel | June 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

