color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Family Time

Skype is a beautiful thing.

Skype2

L to R: Mom, Papa, Tim, Aunt Lori

We’ve been in Singapore for the past month, taking care of business at the international headquarters for our organization (which is why you’ve not been getting posts out of me), and yesterday morning, before heading to the airport for our flight back to Thailand, we had a Skype date to take care of.

Now, this wasn’t just any old Skype call.  No, this was a gathering of my whole family, all in one place, all at one time.  It was time for the annual Spring birthdays party (big brother, Tim-Feb 27; niece, Madelynn-March 1; cousin, Kristen-March 3), and everybody was at my Aunt’s house.  Since she’s the only one out of the bunch with a high-speed connection and the computer capabilities for video chat, it seemed the perfect opportunity to see everybody.  And, boy was it perfect.

A few months ago, you may remember me writing about talking with my Aunt, Uncle, and cousin for the first time online.  It was wonderful.  This time, I got to see not only them, but also my Mom, my brother and his whole family, my grandparents, my other cousin and her husband, all together… for the first time in 7.5 months.  Has it really been that long already?  It sure has.  We talked for just over an hour, sharing about the weather, what time of day it was, what’s been going on in each of our lives… my 6 year old nephew, Carson, played a song for us on the piano, and my 3 year old niece, Madelynn, sang “Pants on the Ground,” then tried to throw some popcorn to us through the laptop screen!

Of course we all got a tiny bit teary when the video screen just popped up – it was just so unbelievable.  I mean really, to be chatting live, face-to-face, from Illinois to Singapore for free is just ridiculous.  It’s like living with the Jetsons!  I know it meant a lot to my mom to be able to actually see us when we talked, different from our regular chats every few weeks on the phone.  Crazy to think when she and my dad were missionaries 30 years ago, it was a huge thing for them to just make a phone call every month or so back to their families.  I wonder if my dad would even believe the technology that’s come around since he’s been gone.  Hmm.

Well, that’s all I wanted to say.  I love my family.  I’m thankful for them.  And, I’m thankful for Skype.  🙂

March 15, 2010 - Posted by | Personal | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. ‘word that’
    ‘ditto’
    ‘right on’
    ‘oh yeah, baby’
    ‘uh-huh’
    ‘absotively posilutely fantasmic, bombastic’!!!!!!!!

    Comment by mom | March 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

