color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Cookie Therapy

As opposed to what you may already be thinking, no, I do not turn to eating cookies as means of soothing myself and my woes.  Rather, I make them.  Cooking, baking, creating anything in the kitchen – the more details and frilly I get to be with it, the better – is my way of releasing stress and turning it into creative energy.  I love it.  I absolutely love it.

A few days ago, I was taking my usual look at foodgawker.com, a site that seems to collect a photo thumbnail for daily posts on a very wide range of food blogs.  It’s fun to check in each day and see what people are writing about.  This is another form of “therapy” for me, seeing as I do not have a proper kitchen of my own to work in anymore.  I seem to live vicariously through the joys of others as they seek to create quality recipes and share them with the rest of the world.  I really have learned a lot about different cooking techniques and ingredient combinations through it all as well.  This is good.

Anyways, there just so happened to be a photo of these incredibly fun looking pinwheel-type cookies and a link to a site called SprinkleBakes where I could find out the story behind them.  Naturally, I clicked and read away.  Soon after reading through the ingredients required to make such cookies, I decided I needed to bake them for myself.  I could actually find everything I needed here right in my part of town, the recipe required a bit of skill and concentration in order to properly execute the spiral design, and well, they just looked cool.  Since our weekly fellowship group was cancelled due to most of the group travelling, I had extra time and the project was slated for this evening.

This is what I made.

cookies 1

It’s a buttery, shortbread-like cookie with a strawberry swirl (the pink part).  Aren’t they just lovely?  This is why I had to make them.  If only you could have seen how antsy I was to get them out of the oven and cooled so I could take these photos. Something about a fun pink spiral encrusted in multi-colored sprinkles just screams “share me!”  And that is precisely what I am going to do with them.  Share.  Strangely enough, I don’t enjoy eating sweets as much I enjoy preparing them and giving them away.  I guess that’s good for the ol’ waistline, huh?

Another wonderful thing about this particular recipe is that you can pretty much use whatever colors and flavors you want!  Chocolate swirl + crushed Oreo edges, orange swirl + crushed candies, green swirl + pistachios… Hey, Colts fans, you could even make them with a blue swirl and roll the outside in blue & white sugars!  How’s that for customization.

Just look at these little beauties.

cookies 3

I think it would be hard to be in a bad mood with these things staring you down.

February 3, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Just for Fun | ,

2 Comments »

  1. i would eat them aaaaallllll up! :o)

    Comment by mom | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. Those are absolutely adorable!

    Comment by April | February 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

