color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Tasty Tuesdays goes home

If you haven’t figured it out already by my lack of blogging in the last week and a half, we’ve been doing a bit of travelling and internet has not been readily available to us. Though, rest assured, between our trip and the events of Christmas here in Thailand recently, you’ll have plenty to chew on over the course of the next few days…

But, for now, Tasty Tuesday in a slightly different format from before. Instead of introducing you to one of the many Thai culinary creations around me, or sharing my excitement with you over yet another triumph against the wily ways of my wonky old stove and lack of familiar ingredients, this will be more of a mild lament about what it is that I am missing out on back home. Oh, boo, you can stop reading if you want to, but if you’d like to continue I’m more than happy to keep the conversation going.

Seeing as the big holiday rush has past, New Year’s commences this week, and all sorts of family gatherings have closed up shop until the next season of celebration, it’s been a bit lonely around here. Sure, the Mr. and I have each other, which is a blessing beyond measure… but what about all those other faces and voices and foods that we’ve grown so accustomed to at this time of year?  In our bouts of thinking of home, we’ve started to face some of the realities of living overseas, in SouthEast Asia for that matter, and the fact that the changes in our lifestyle are not as temporary as they have been in times before – this is the long haul and things really have to change.  Wow.  Crazy.  Exciting, and not so exciting all at the very same time!  (More on this stuff later.)

So, what in the world does this have to do with Tasty Tuesday, Sara??  Well, a big part of life is eating, and when you change where you live, surely that aspect of life change must as well – and, in our case, dramatically.  When moving to a completely different culture, the items that you are used to seeing everyday, the things that are easy to find and fit well into your budget are not so anymore.  Those economy meals you used to make back home now become a luxury priced item, if you can even find what it is you were needing in the first place.  That’s a big change.

Those of you who know me well, know that I am a rabbit by nature.  I like to eat light and fresh, the things that make me feel healthy after consuming them rather than like a slug.  (Though, if you happen to put a big slab of meaty lasagna in front of me, my knees just might buckle from delight!)  So, when it’s summertime and the weather is hot (song reference, Mom?), there’s nothing better than some crisp cucumbers and tomatoes, a sliced up avocado and some sprouts, a slice of cheddar or colby-jack and a bagel with all the nuts and seeds to cool you down and cure that hunger… well, it’s summertime here all year ’round, but it’s a bowl of rice with something hot on top.  Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoy Thai food, but it’s just not what I’m used to having every day.

This, right here, is what I would be willing to pay a fortune for right now.

Photo borrowed from PioneerWoman.com and her fabulous food blog.

Photo borrowed from thepioneerwoman.com and her fabulous food blog.

Now, don’t go getting ideas of how to mail this to me, because frankly, after 2 weeks in transit this would be downright nasty.  But, the next time you delight in such a meal for yourself, please do think of me.  🙂

So, if you were to move to another country, what do you think you would miss eating most?

December 29, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Tasty Tuesdays, Thailand | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. aw, i wish i could send you one! as for the song, now i’ll have it stuck in my head the rest of the day…ch,ch,ch-ch,ch,ch..

    Comment by mom | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. just wanted to say that i love the pioneer woman’s blog as well!!! and, that, being in cambodia, i am currently missing cereal that doesn’t cost $7 a box…

    Comment by Heather | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. I don’t have to imagine since I do live in a foreign country :-). I have really missed (and consumed madly while back in the US) Caesar salad. I also have three bottles of Caesar dressing in my suitcase to take back with me. Now, I just have to fine the lettuce when I get back to India…

    Comment by Sally | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

