color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

Tasty Tuesdays – 1st Ed.

You got it! It’s Tuesday, and I’ve got something tasty to talk about. Once upon a time, perhaps a year ago, I had this idea of blog posting on the topic of food. I figured I would make it catchy, yet slightly annoying (of course, annoying enough to get stuck in your head, yet not so bad that it turns you away) and make it coincide with a particular day of the week. That’s when Tasty Tuesday was born… but, I shyed away from it thinking nobody would want to read about food that interests me, or about my baking/ cooking adventures, so it never came to life. Well, upon discovering that fellow bloggers/ Americans in Thailand/ friends Jason & April Ruggles have a blog installment called Food Fridays, I became inspired once again to make Tasty Tuesdays come to life.

Anytime you see a post that is part of the Tasty Tuesdays series, you can expect either to be introduced to some form of Thai cuisine or local fare, or I’ll simply be recording one of my triumphs in adapting my knowledge of cooking to what ingredients are available as well as what equipment I can find to use. So, without further adieu, your first Tasty Tuesday has begun.

DSC04967 smHow many of you out there enjoy brownies?  I do.  Especially warm with a bowlful of vanilla bean ice cream.  Well, tomorrow night, our fellowship groups are all combining for a special session, and my group happens to be in charge of supplying dinner for the whole bunch.  Our leader, knowing my affinity for all things made in the oven, asked if I would like to make something to go with ice cream for dessert.  Of course, I reluctantly ( :: read incredibly eagerly :: ) said yes.  And what comes to mind when thinking of what goes well with ice cream?  Brownies.  But, since I can’t just go to the grocery store and pick up a box of Duncan Hines or Pillsbury fudge brownie mix for $1.50, I had to go on a quest for the perfect recipe.  How in the world was I going to re-create that chewy, gooey, fudgy sensation that come from the box?

I put out a plea on Facebook, of course… and, used my spare time after late-night studying to scour the internet for tips and tricks on how to make homemade brownies not taste like cake, be super fudgy, and use only ingredients that I can actually find here in Lopburi.  After much research (reading through recipe after recipe after recipe…), I came up with a decent idea of how to accomplish my task, and tonight I tried it out.  I ended up using a 13″ square pan, making half plain chocolate and swirling a peanut butter batter into the other half (thus, the marbling), and they actually turned out pretty good!  Still not quite the same as the box, but they are rather tasty!  The chocolate flavor is  a bit lighter, but the chips inside help make them gooey.  I think they’ll go great with ice cream!  Perhaps I need to buy some sort of chemicals that I can’t pronounce and add them to the batter though, if I want them to be like the box… after all, isn’t that what the big companies do to make things taste so good?

DSC04971 smI still have a few others to try out, but after spending 2 hours making these things and having the temperature in my kitchen rise to near 100 F, I figured they were worthy of posting.  If only you knew how I had to cleverly rig the oven door in order to regulate the temperature inside the oven… Seriously, do you know how tough it is to bake in Thailand?  🙂  I love it.

For those of you that want to taste them yourselves, here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 C flour (I used all-purpose this time)
  • 1/2 C unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 6 T butter or margarine
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/3 C tiny chocolate chips (yes, I found some today!!!)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease 8×8 metal baking pan. In separate bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a saucepan, melt butter on low. Remove pan from heat; stir in sugar, then eggs, one at a time, and vanilla until well blended. Stir in the flour mixture, and tiny chocolate chips.  Spread batter in pan and pop it in the oven!
  3. Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick or clean knife in the middle comes out almost clean. Cool brownies completely in pan before cutting, or they will get crumbly

For the peanut butter swirl:

Beat with mixer or blend by hand in a medium bowl –

  • 1 C creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 4 T butter or margarine
  • 2 T flour
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg

After placing brownie batter in pan, before baking, either drop peanut butter batter by spoonfuls around pan and swirl with a knife, or pipe the mixture onto the brownie batter in stripes using a pastry bag (or plastic baggie with one corner snipped off, since I didn’t have a pastry bag!), then swirl with a knife.  Either way works fine.

October 6, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Tasty Tuesdays, Thailand | ,

4 Comments »

  1. We’ll hafta try it sometime…

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on food… Thai or otherwise.

    Comment by Jason Ruggles | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. yumMEEE! (you know, with the last syllable emphasized… all Thai-ish 😉 ). Sounds delish.

    Comment by April | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. dat’s my baby girlie! i wish i could sample them for you….i’ll bring the ice cream! love you, and I’m sooooooo proud of you!

    Comment by mom | October 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hey Sara!

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ve been trying to figure out baked goods that I can make in India and have not made it very far beyond a few kinds of cookies. I tried to find pumpkin in the market the other day, but they were out, so the pumpkin cake will have to wait for another day… You at least have a real oven– I have to cook everything in a toaster oven (that I share with 50 other students)!

    Much love,
    Sally

    Comment by Sally | October 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

