color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

the local zoo

We had a “day off” on Monday of this week, and one of the things on our list of things to do on that day off was visit the local zoo here in Lopburi.  I love going to the zoo.  I love animals.  I love talking to them as though they understand me.  I know, I know, I’m 25 years old… but, I just love it!  This zoo was a bit different though…

DSC04813smallFirst of all, the selection of animals was varied a bit from home.  How many of you out there like to see the elephants?  Well, they don’t have any.  Why?  Because elephants are a regular part of everyday life here.  You get to see them walking down the street every day, so there’s no point in putting them in the zoo.  Alright, monkeys anyone?  They had lots of them, but stranger still, was seeing the local monkeys that run free throughout the city coming into the zoo to visit their caged fellows.  We even saw one tiny monkey find a crack in the bottom of a pen, sneak inside, visit the zoo monkeys, then come back out and follow us along a fence!  But, for the most exotic of them all… they had special exhibits for cattle (which you don’t find in Thailand, thus dairy is rare), goats, white-tailed deer, sheep, and… squirrels.  Yes, squirrels.  Believe it or not, those animals we’re used to seeing run rampant all over the Midwest States are quite foreign to Thailand, and so they are on special display in the zoo.

DSC04817smallThe other thing that was different about this zoo is that is it quite primitive compared to the habitats you see in the States for animals in captivity.  I felt so bad for so many of these creatures, as their living conditions were really very poor.  Some didn’t even make much sense to me, as the deer and goats had large habitats in open air for only 5 or 6 of them each, and yet the giant Asiatic Black Bears had a slab cage only big enough to fit perhaps a small car.  Same for the tigers and other large cats, and the various breeds of primates.  I don’t know, I just felt really bad for them.

Either way, I took some shots of our trip to the zoo, and this is just a small selection of them.  The rest can be found on my Facebook page.

DSC04818small

DSC04806small

DSC04819small

August 13, 2009 - Posted by | Thailand | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

