color by numbers

mindless musings of a semi-creative guy

I’m back…and I’m planning to stay!

Alright, alright.  I know it’s been some time since my last post…

and the fact that it’s been nuts with leaving our jobs, going on a cruise with family, travelling all over the eastern part of the US, finishing up our ministry at the church, beginning packing and cleaning out our house, finding a good home for our puppy Lily, getting ready for a family wedding, visiting family, seeing people, and speaking in numerous churches, and more, all within just the last few weeks…

… is no excuse.  😉

Now, anyone who knows me, knows I love food.  I love to eat it, love to make it, love to invent it, and most of all LOVE to serve it to hungry bellies.  So, I thought it proper and fitting for me to re-enter the (consistently fom now on, I promise!) blogging world with a piece about one of my favorite consumables.  Salsa.  But, not just ANY salsa.  Noooo.  A fruit salsa.  Pineapple, to be exact.

Ever since our first official BBQ (hosted by us, in our own home – a big event to someone like me), this has been requested whenever we get together with people.  Seriously, it’s just that good.

This scrumptious topping for chips, crackers, tortillas and the like, was adapted from a meal I found in a magazine a few years ago.  It was originally supposed to be cooked down a bit and used as a sauce for chicken fingers, but I decided to use it otherwise.  Omitting a few ingredients, changing the ratios of a few others, and serving it cold, I introduced a cool pineapple salsa to our BBQ world…

… and now I’m going to share it with you.  I mean, after all, I’m not going to be around for every party here in the States amymore, and somebody is going to have to keep the tradition going in my absence, right?  And maybe – just maybe – every time you make it or eat it, you’ll think of me.  You’ll think of us in Thailand and perhaps offer up a prayer.  You have any idea how great that would be?  Well, it would be great.

So, without any further delay, here it is.  My colorful and refreshing pineapple salsa.

1          20 oz. can crushed pineapple, in juice
1          large red sweet pepper, chopped –
1/2      large red onion, chopped
1          small handful fresh cilantro, chopped *
1          large jalapeno, chopped **
1 – 2    Tbsp lime juice (to taste; I prefer Key Lime juice)
1/4      tsp salt
1/2      tsp ground cumin ***
Dash fresh ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, adding last 4 ingredients in list at the end.  Chill for at least an hour before serving for best taste.

* I like to hold the bunch in my hand and snip it with kitchen scissors.  It’s nice and fresh, easy and keeps from crushing the leaves.

** Jarred jalapenos work just as well, and actually help the flavor spread through the salsa quicker if you’re in a pinch.

*** I never really know how much I put in, I just start with this much, taste it after a half hour, and add more if I want.  But, be careful!  You can over-add this ingredient if you go by taste when first mixing.  Wait until it has time to soak in before deciding if you want more… if you add too much, your salsa will become bitter.

So, go now and make this.  Mix it up with different colors of bell peppers.  Serve it up with pork chops.  Just eat a giant bowl with blue corn chips (like me!) while you enjoy the spring breeze.  But, whatever you do, don’t eat it all by your lonesome.  This food likes company…

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | Food, Personal | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

